Issue with Oil System

Issue with Oil System

Postby creationz on Wed, 04 May 2011 4:22 +0000

Im a noob when it comes to the ins and outs of the diesal engine, yes i can complete my own service, thats no drama's... but this morning i had my oil light come on (fair enough i am due for a service and oil change) i dont have the spare cash at the moment to grab all the filters etc but i refilled the oil and got on my way again... however the light is still staying on... but its strange... it doesnt turn on after kickin the engine over... and it doesnt matter how long idle... still, no oil light... but once i get a few hundred metres down the road... it starts flashing... very faint at first and with no real pattern... just randomly flashing.... then it gets brighter and brighter.... then turns off.... then a few more hundred metres down the road it does the same and its got me f*cked.... anyone here able to shed some light on this for me?

Model: '97 Hilux Dual cab 2.8L
creationz

Re: Issue with Oil System

Postby blownlux on Wed, 04 May 2011 6:35 +0000

you may find the oil pick up is blocked, i have seen this many times with engines that have not been serviced reguarly. the carbon sludge builds up and blocks it. this may have built up prier to you buying it. if the oil light is on dont drive it. does it go off if you rev the engine higher?
if you have low oil pressure you could kill the engine in onoy a few min.
blownlux

Postby Hilux Max on Mon, 09 May 2011 12:46 +0000

moved to correct area. :ugeek:
Hilux Max
Valued Contributor

Postby tasibrett on Mon, 09 May 2011 8:47 +0000

As blownlux said you could kill you engine in a few min with low oil pressure, but I would check the wire to your oil pressure switch as it sounds like the wire is shorting to earth.
My wife say's I am not completely useless, I can serve as a bad example for others
tasibrett

Postby rosco01 on Wed, 11 May 2011 1:11 +0000

As per all above......