OBD Protocol

Re: OBD Protocol

Postby rodw on Wed, 05 Aug 2009 7:07 +0000

Well, finally decided I better keep up wth you guys and ordered one of the OBD Pro interfaces tonight. Will post up my fondings in another week or so. They now have a special deal with Australian based GLM Software for diagnostic software but I did not take up the offer on purchase so the price has gone up $10 USD for me. I spoke with GLM a while ago and he recommended the OBD Pro because it can be upgraded for free via a FLash download whereas the ELM units need a new chip to be fitted to them.

The GLM software is locked to the PC it is fitted to and they acknowledged to me it was not designed for car PC use and he recommended if I bought his software to put it on to a laptop so I could diagnose more than one car....

I'll keep you in the loop via this thread or my buildup after it arrives
User avatar
rodw
 
Posts: 3195
Joined: Tue, 19 Feb 2008 2:00 +0000
Location: Brisbane, QLD


 

Re: OBD Protocol

Postby rodw on Wed, 05 Aug 2009 7:07 +0000

...Deleted duplicate post ... sorry guys... How did that happen?
Last edited by rodw on Thu, 06 Aug 2009 10:03 +0000, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
rodw
 
Posts: 3195
Joined: Tue, 19 Feb 2008 2:00 +0000
Location: Brisbane, QLD

Re: OBD Protocol

Postby meep on Thu, 06 Aug 2009 8:47 +0000

I'm sure you'll have smoother sailing than I had!
There are 10 kinds of people in the world - those that understand binary and those that don't.
2006 HiLux Vigo 3.0 - read my iLux blog here
User avatar
meep
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun, 05 Jul 2009 8:16 +0000

Re: OBD Protocol

Postby rodw on Thu, 06 Aug 2009 10:02 +0000

meep wrote:I'm sure you'll have smoother sailing than I had!


Luck of the Irish mate I think ! If you lived a bit closer, I would have offered to take the one you bought off your hands.
User avatar
rodw
 
Posts: 3195
Joined: Tue, 19 Feb 2008 2:00 +0000
Location: Brisbane, QLD

Re: OBD Protocol

Postby GreenHilux Guy on Sun, 16 Aug 2009 4:11 +0000

Hey everyone,

After getting the digi gps in on Friday before Teewah, I managed to get the trial version of ozi and ozi ce working which is awesome. Now I am keen to set up the OBD protocol as well to run through the unit. Where should I start?

Do i just need the usb cable from ebay that quinny bought and plug it into the unit? It has a usb port in the back, one in the glovebox through the didgital tv tuner which just runs on aux leads and in the front a smaller usb interface (like one on a digital camera 0 not sure of name)

Could I see the data through the unit or would I have to buy a scandisk2 first?

thanks for the help ;)
User avatar
GreenHilux Guy
 
Posts: 875
Joined: Mon, 15 Oct 2007 1:00 +0000
Location: Mt Cotton, QLD

Re: OBD Protocol

Postby GreenHilux Guy on Sun, 16 Aug 2009 4:12 +0000

Hey everyone,

After getting the digi gps in on Friday before Teewah, I managed to get the trial version of ozi and ozi ce working which is awesome. Now I am keen to set up the OBD protocol as well to run through the unit. Where should I start?

Do i just need the usb cable from ebay that quinny bought and plug it into the unit? It has a usb port in the back, one in the glovebox through the didgital tv tuner which just runs on aux leads and in the front a smaller usb interface (like one on a digital camera 0 not sure of name)

Could I see the data through the unit or would I have to buy a scandisk2 first?

thanks for the help ;)
User avatar
GreenHilux Guy
 
Posts: 875
Joined: Mon, 15 Oct 2007 1:00 +0000
Location: Mt Cotton, QLD

Re: OBD Protocol

Postby Quinny34 on Sun, 16 Aug 2009 4:40 +0000

Im not 100% sure you'll get it to work through this device... but you could try...

You'll need a OBD cable that comes with a windows CE driver (Just confirm what version of Windows is running on the device)... OR... Get a Blue tooth OBD reader ... that way your PDA should pick it up as a BT serial device....

Then you need to hunt around for PPC based OBD software... again I dont have a copy of this, all mine are PC based... but Im sure mininova or pirate bay will assist in a product...

If both the above are in place then you should be fine...
FCCW
Application for G##C membership REVOKED
quinny23@newhilux.net
User avatar
Quinny34
Platinum Subscriber
 
Posts: 5169
Joined: Sun, 19 Aug 2007 1:00 +0000
Location: Lavington, NSW

Re: OBD Protocol

Postby Chancha_Blanca on Wed, 18 Aug 2010 8:00 +0000

Bump...

Can anyone confirm that the Series 1 Hilux (May 2005 - Sept 2006) do run on OBD I and that the second series (Sept 2006 - May 2009) and third Series (May 2009 to present) do run on OBD II?

Thanks.

Thinking on getting
http://www.launchtech.com.au/Users/Prod ... aspx?id=83
Without Trucks, Australia Stops, Without Hilux, the World Stops!
User avatar
Chancha_Blanca
 
Posts: 644
Joined: Tue, 12 Feb 2008 2:00 +0000
Location: Perth Hills Area, WA

Re: OBD Protocol

Postby rodw on Thu, 19 Aug 2010 8:03 +0000

Chancha_Blanca wrote:Bump...

Can anyone confirm that the Series 1 Hilux (May 2005 - Sept 2006) do run on OBD I and that the second series (Sept 2006 - May 2009) and third Series (May 2009 to present) do run on OBD II?

Thanks.

Thinking on getting
http://www.launchtech.com.au/Users/Prod ... aspx?id=83


I am pretty sure that the update to the European Emissions would have brought with it OBDII compliance. This happened in about August 06 so you should be in the clear. Maybe check with your dealer. However, I don't really think the logging of engine data is terrribly usefull for a diesel engine as there is a lot less data available on a diesel than on a petrol engine as there is no fuel trim data. You get speed, revs, coolant temp, % load, air inlet temp, fuel pressure, ECU voltage and the remaining 12 or so PID's are not particularly useful. I have never seen barometric pressure move even though it is reported. A lot of the others are like time since DTC reset, time driven with check engine light on and stuff that is not helpful. If you have a laptop, you would be better off grabbing an OBDII interface for it.
User avatar
rodw
 
Posts: 3195
Joined: Tue, 19 Feb 2008 2:00 +0000
Location: Brisbane, QLD

Re: OBD Protocol

Postby Grahs91 on Tue, 14 Apr 2015 4:40 +0000

So out if all this is there a hand held scantool that will work on a 05-06 d4d yet?
Grahs91
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri, 30 Jan 2015 9:20 +0000
Location: Charter towers qld

Re: OBD Protocol

Postby bananasphinx on Thu, 17 Nov 2016 5:35 +0000

...
bananasphinx
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu, 17 Nov 2016 10:51 +0000
Location: brisbane, QLD, Australia

Re: OBD Protocol

Postby Luxxy2005 on Tue, 04 Jul 2017 8:07 +0000

Bump
Luxxy2005
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue, 10 May 2016 9:36 +0000
Location: Townsville QLD

Re: OBD Protocol

Postby hiluxxury on Wed, 05 Jul 2017 8:28 +0000

I have this and use it for quick scanning of fault codes and the other parameters it offers:
http://www.nueng-auto.com/index.php?lay ... =539367850

Its handy to keep in the glove box if you are unlucky enough to have the engine light appear.

I use the mini-VCI cable and a cracked techstream for checking the other vitals though.
User avatar
hiluxxury
Moderator
 
Posts: 640
Joined: Sun, 20 Dec 2009 4:16 +0000

Re: OBD Protocol

Postby artarts on Tue, 09 Apr 2019 7:07 +0000

Found this post about Prados:
https://www.pradopoint.com.au/forum/-120-series-discussion-only/general-120-series/27742-installing-obd2-bluetooth-scanner-on-m-obd-prados

I wonder if anyone has tried stuff like that to make the ELM327 work on the 1KD-FTV models.
artarts
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon, 16 Apr 2012 6:09 +0000

Re: OBD Protocol

Postby hiluxxury on Tue, 09 Apr 2019 8:30 +0000

Yes the key is the ATIB 96 \n ATIIA 13 \n ATSH8213F0 \n ATSP4 \n 0100 setting in torque.

I tried it but couldn't get it work... this could have been user error or a dodgy m-obd unit.
User avatar
hiluxxury
Moderator
 
Posts: 640
Joined: Sun, 20 Dec 2009 4:16 +0000

Previous

Return to Electrical

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests