New suspension kit

General discussion of basically anything Hilux related

New suspension kit

Postby bluehilux on Tue, 06 Sep 2022 1:23 +0000

Hi All,

10 years/260,000kms down the track and my front suspension has shit the bed. Strut snapped off at the bottom. 2012 KUN26 diesel dual cab.Bull bar up front. LR tank, canopy and tool draws at the rear.

I'm a farmer and only use it for work. It's got a 2" lift and +300kg springs in the rear which has all worked well enough up till now, but it's all tired and squeaky and I'm sure the rear shocks and bushes will be buggered too.

I'm being quoted a grand even for basic Iron Man shocks at the front, and I'm thinking a full new suspension kit up to 3k is a better idea.

There's a small indy 4wd place near me that reckons the Lovells kit is a good thing. He also mentioned that Iron Man is complete crap and OME is highly over priced. He reckons about 2700 fitted and aligned for the Lovell kit with 2" lift and heavier springs in the rear. ARB want over 3200 for OME.

Any advice or suggestions would be appreciated. Thank you
bluehilux

Re: New suspension kit

Postby Myralga on Tue, 06 Sep 2022 7:15 +0000

I will concur that iron man is junk. Too many horror stories to list.

I am biased as I sold and serviced OME for ever and the best part is that the majority of it is swap and go. If you ever have a drama you go to any arb and warranty is pretty smooth as they don’t want a bad wrap.
Yes more expensive than most but the product is solid. Thicker shock rods, improved ride etc etc.

Bilstein is also another solid option.

But saying that I had ultimate suspension in my 07 lux and to be honest it was one of the best set ups I have had.
From a farming perspective I lived at the time in north west NSW it put up with mud, floods scrub, bush bashing, pig chasing, roo strikes and some of the worst corrugations in the country and it took it all in its stride.