98 D/C hilux build

Want to show off what you've done to your rig? or have a custom project to show? Post it up here!

98 D/C hilux build

Postby 3rzfe+t lux on Tue, 03 Mar 2015 8:33 +0000

hi all, though I might put a build thread up here for you guys to check out.

I may as well introduce my self first,

my names Dan, im 21 and im an apprentice boilermaker.

ive had a few Toyota trucks in the past, my first one was a 93 single cab 2.8 hilux, my very first car.

heres a pic of what it looked like when I first got it. pretty stock, low, small tyres and slow haha

I ended up lifting it, putting 31" maxxis big horns on it, made a sheet metal bumper, made a new tray, turboed it, front mount intercooler, stainless snorkel, locked front and rear diffs and etc

ended up selling it and buying my dads 03 1hz powered 105 series cruiser,

what it looked like when I first bought it

then I decided to chop it into a extra cab ute,

ignore the direct injection on the sticker haha

I added 35x13.5 maxxis mudzillas on 16x10 rims, turboed the 1hz donk, front mount intercooler, made a tray for it, super flex arms, front and rear lockers etc

I eventually sold it and ive been with out a forby for some time now and I got the itch again, I wanted something that was lighter then the cruiser yet bigger the a single cab lux. I eventually found something that fitted what I wanted and was inside my price range a few weeks ago.

a 98 model dual cab hilux with a 3rz power plant.

ive done some little things in the time that ive now owned it, I installed a stereo system, wound the torsion bars up in the front to level it out, added a light bar, did a major service including new plugs and leads, painted the wheels black.

installed a digital volt gauge wired through a dpdt switch so I can view both the cranking battery and the aux battery (when I get one) on the one screen.

and that about were im up to, but this is where things are goin to get interesting. ive ordered this,