Free Hilux and free problems

Free Hilux and free problems

Postby FreeLux on Sun, 11 Jun 2017 8:04 +0000

Hey guys (and gals if any). My brother recently got a job in HK so he moved. Decided to give me his 2005 SR5 dual cab that he owned since new. Nice bro, ey?
Anyway the car is far from perfect but I know I can slowly get it there. He lived in the NT for 5years where the Hilux raked up most of its 216000km. It has some kangaroo inflicted battle scars but luckily I am a PDR tech so will slowly iron out those. I already replaced the front bar with a genuine alloy bullbar (I wont even pretend to be an off roader and go for some big steel bar/winch setup). It just looks way better than the almost destroyed original bar and provides a bit more protection from wildlife. The rest I will sort out slowly.
The biggest issue I have with the car is mechanical in form of a slightly smokey, down on power engine. I am pretty sure its related to carbon build up but I will probably ask more about that in another thread.
I thought about selling the car because all my cars over the years have been high performance Jap cars. Turbo Skylines and Subaru STI is still my current car. The Hilux is total opposite in every way to these cars but something about it has me hooked. Its road presence is undeniable. As soon as I turn on the indicator to merge everyone just makes room for me. I my other cars I get nothing of the sort. Plus I can't see myself getting too many speeding fines in this behemoth.
Anyway that is the story of how I got to be a Hilux owner and hope to hear from some of you more knowledgeable guys when I start asking questions about a few issues I have with the car. Name is Darko by the way. Cheers.
FreeLux

Re: Free Hilux and free problems

Postby DeadlyBeast on Sun, 11 Jun 2017 10:22 +0000

G'Day Darko and welcome to the forum ;)

Great intro mate

First - if you havnt already, try the easy stuff: Have a read of this thread MAF sensor and MAP filter clean