MK6 "Apocalypse" build

Want to show off what you've done to your rig? or have a custom project to show? Post it up here!

MK6 "Apocalypse" build

Postby typerpilot on Fri, 06 Jul 2012 6:43 +0000

This is my build that I have been doing for the last 3-4 months. I've lifted most of the content off www.hpoc.co.uk which is the UK version of this site. It probably won't read very well as I have removed all the banter and added comments from my original thread. Anyway, here goes.....

I had a Hilux (well a Vigo if you want to split hairs) for about 6 years - I imported it from the Far East back when grey importing was the done thing. 100,000 miles+ later I was in a position to buy a new one - it must be noted that my previous one had never ever missed a beat and the biggest bill it ever had was when the A/C went last summer, aside from that it was brake pads and the odd shock.

I got my new MK 6 pretty much the week the new 2012 model came out. I went up to Milton Keynes Toyota and had a look, personally I couldn't really see where all the extra cash was going, plus the new front end in my opinion looked a bit too car-like, a stick on reverse camera and some 'special' audio/nav system. They also had a 2011 Hilux Invincible auto which was apparently (?) a cancelled customer order which had every optional extra going. After some negotiation we came to 21k plus VAT (which we get back). SOLD

I knew from the off what I wanted to do to this truck as I'd been thinking about mods for my previous Hilux for a few years but never did much about it aside from a few speakers, headunit and a remap.

Whilst I still had my old truck I did some renderings of what my next one could look like with a few added extras - halo lights, fender flares, different wheels, lift kit and of course everything in black. I was also thinking about a matte black wrap - hence why the pictures look grey:

Image Image Image Image