DIY Advice - Suspension

DIY Advice - Suspension

Postby cuzo4x4 on Thu, 02 Aug 2012 9:18 +0000

I have researched and serched on a hole lot off difrent views on this topic,

due to amount off options, i am looking at a 2" lift suspension kit preassemble, big question is how hard is this type of kit to install for you average home garage guy and what kind of tricks are in it, I have changed many shocks and worked on my race quadbike so I have some knowledge but working on a car for the first time is were I start to shutter at the thought of doing it myself, but there is a masive saving to made,

any feed back or pitfalls would great.
If I have anything Good to Say it will be Above.
My Shed: cuzo's Build
Pssst, if anyone asks, I was here between 10pm and 3am last night.

Shawn
07 SR5 Dual Cab
cuzo4x4

Re: DIY Advice - Suspension

Postby Swinny on Thu, 02 Aug 2012 9:28 +0000

mate if your not confedent enough dont try it your self have a mate around or someone with a basic understanding of forbys? but if your keen to do it your self there is no harm in trying you do save a bucket load of $$$..
Swinny
Platinum Subscriber

Postby outbackjoe on Thu, 02 Aug 2012 9:35 +0000

I put my 2 inch lift in myself. In terms of average home garage guy, I'm very average. Somewhat below average actually.

It was difficult for me. The spring compressors I had were not good enough for the large 4WD coils. Was a pain in the butt getting the struts in and aligning them to fit the bolts through. Took a fair bit of levering, hammering, swearing. Same story for the rear, the brake line prevented the axle from being lowered enough to fit the leaves comfortably. More hammering and swearing to get them in place. Then when I got one side in and tightened it up, it pulled the axle out of alignment. Ended up winching it to get it to align with the location stud on the other leaf spring. I had constant load leaves which made it even worse.