Transmission cooler

Gearboxs, Transfers, Tailshafts, Diffs, axles and CVs

Transmission cooler

Postby Damien-murray on Sun, 30 Aug 2020 4:28 +0000

Hey ladies and gents I am new to the Hilux community I used to have landcruisers and manual ones at that so I have a 2015 gun126R lux auto.

I have been up the beach a few times with it, today the sand was really really soft and I had a lot of trouble getting up the access dune I eventually gave up and went home after some googling to see what I did wrong I saw they say a trans cooler is recommended when on the sand. I have looked at the front of the lux and it seems it has a cooler allready in front of the radiator as I bought this second hand I am wondering if it allready has a trans cooler installed and if this is the case should I also. Put a temp gauge in to keep an eye on it and what is best way to get up a Verry soft dune in a auto lux ? Sorry for the newbie questions

Thanks
Damo
Damien-murray

Re: Transmission cooler

Postby HK1837 on Sun, 30 Aug 2020 5:25 +0000

Definitely need an aux cooler for sand driving on Stockton/Birubi. Also must use low range, no ifs of buts about it. Probably the best thing to do in Newcastle is drive over into Lake Macquarie and see Byron at Lake Macquarie autos in Toronto. Get your fluid colour checked to make sure it isn’t burnt and get them to look at your cooler. You can buy a gauge off Wholesale Autos and Byron can fit that if you don’t want to. These gauges are lots more accurate than the temps out of the ECU and you will quickly learn how to drive to keep them cool.
HK1837

Postby Damien-murray on Sun, 30 Aug 2020 5:37 +0000