Cold Clutch Shudder

General discussion of basically anything related to the 2015> Hilux

Cold Clutch Shudder

Postby stevman87 on Tue, 14 Jun 2016 3:53 +0000

Hi all,

Just wondering if any one else experiences a clutch shudder on a cold car. I live on a hill and each morning after leaving the drive way (up the hill) i get a shudder upon releasing the clutch in first and sometimes in second. This also happens going down the hill in the morning - not under load or strain on the clutch.. Im a electrician with a bit of weight in the tray (approx 500KG) After a few minutes of driving around it goes away... Car is still under warranty but Toyota says if they pull it apart and there is no issue, its my cost. I do tow occasional loads of 2-2.2 tonne and maybe the clutch has a wear point or something?
stevman87

Re: Cold Clutch Shudder

Postby Locknut on Thu, 16 Jun 2016 7:52 +0000

G'dy mate

I too have the same problem and have been noticing it a lot more in the colder months. It happens every time the engine is cold and gradually goes away once the engine has warmed up. I don't tow anything, only a little off-road. I really have to ride the clutch to stop it happening as it's like I haven't given it enough gas. I've only had the car 1 year but it's done it since I got it. In the last 12 months I've had the valve clearance check done. I change the fuel filter and clean the MAP/MAF every 10k.

I haven't had the clutch looked at yet and the timing bent is due at 150k. Anyone have any ideas?
Locknut

Postby stevman87 on Thu, 16 Jun 2016 5:19 +0000

True, i have had a few people mention this around sites.. I too have to ride the clutch to stop it from happening.. i have been told that if Toyota / mechnaics service your vehicle that sometimes they dont drain the remaining clutch fluid before supplying new fluid and the oils react causing this issue to happen? :roll:
stevman87

Postby Locknut on Fri, 17 Jun 2016 5:14 +0000