Touchscreen Update

General discussion of basically anything related to the 2015> Hilux

Touchscreen Update

Postby adamkberger on Fri, 22 Apr 2016 4:01 +0000

Just letting everyone know that there's and update for the SR5 touchscreens which adds an App called 'Travel Times'. Looks like it could useful as it allows you to have 4 destinations saved such as work or home and allows you to see at a glance if there are any traffic issues before you leave. Appears to be powered by Google Maps and SUNA which should mean it's fairly accurate.

For those who don't know, you will need Toyota Link running on your mobile (Android or IOS) to download and install the update. I tried it on my Yaris and it too got the update, so it must be for all Toyota vehicles with the latest screens.
2015 SR5 2.8 Dual Cab Hilux
User avatar
adamkberger
 
Posts: 357
Joined: Thu, 25 Apr 2013 5:30 +0000
Location: Melton, Victoria


 

Re: Touchscreen Update

Postby Silver hilux on Fri, 22 Apr 2016 5:40 +0000

I'm very disappointed the Nav system doesn't have speed alert & display speed for the road that your driving on. You can buy a GPS from Harvey Normans that includes these features for $100. My mate has a new landcruiser & the system has it.
I wrote to Toyota & they were not that interested.
How do you do system updates & does it update the mapping?
Silver hilux
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun, 22 Nov 2015 7:03 +0000
Location: Chandlers Hill

Re: Touchscreen Update

Postby adamkberger on Fri, 22 Apr 2016 10:58 +0000

To update you'll need Toyota Link running on your phone and simply connect via Bluetooth. If there is an update, it will prompt you to download.

There are speed alerts on these vehicles, as I have had it operatonal on mine. This only happened after my dealership factory reset my screen. It has since disappeared without explaination.
2015 SR5 2.8 Dual Cab Hilux
User avatar
adamkberger
 
Posts: 357
Joined: Thu, 25 Apr 2013 5:30 +0000
Location: Melton, Victoria

Re: Touchscreen Update

Postby Silver hilux on Fri, 22 Apr 2016 4:48 +0000

I've activated speed alerts for speed cameras and they work a treat. I was in Europe last year and my rent a car had a screen just like the hilux.....it displayed the speed limit at all times and alerted me when I exceeded it. My mates Landcruiser does the same. I assumed the Hilux GPS would do this function but the dealership said it didn't. They said they have had a number of complains about the GPS functionally.

On another note, the car is great to drive....I have a Summit bullbar & winch. Also the 150lt ARB fuel tank.
In 2 weeks the draw system, Summit Rear bar, canopy and roof rack are going on. Then I'm off to the Flinders Ranges to see what this puppy can do!!!!

Cheers
Silver hilux
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun, 22 Nov 2015 7:03 +0000
Location: Chandlers Hill

Re: Touchscreen Update

Postby akroehn on Fri, 22 Apr 2016 5:10 +0000

I have a 2016 SR, and i got the update with the new Travel Times app too.. Even though i dont have the GPS.
I wish it could link to google maps via my phone, it would be easily do-able for them but i doubt they ever will as it will negate the need for the built in GPS in the SR5 ;)
akroehn
 
Posts: 80
Joined: Sun, 07 Jan 2007 12:00 +0000
Location: , SA

Re: Touchscreen Update

Postby Hilux Max on Fri, 22 Apr 2016 5:18 +0000

Are there any ways to get GPS running on the SR screen and/or atleast displaying your real speed (i.e. if running bigger tyres).

are there any hacks for the SR screens you can do?
User avatar
Hilux Max
Valued Contributor
 
Posts: 12428
Joined: Sun, 07 Jan 2007 12:00 +0000

Re: Touchscreen Update

Postby Stink989 on Sun, 24 Apr 2016 1:18 +0000

Every time mine trys to update it gets to 82% and fails. Tried loads of times.
Very frustrating.
Stink989
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Sat, 12 Mar 2016 4:18 +0000
Location: Newcastle NSW

Re: Touchscreen Update

Postby nicovdw on Sun, 24 Apr 2016 7:31 +0000

Mine failed a few times on the last update too. Eventually went through after killing the app on the phone, resetting the head unit (long press power button), and relaunching the app.
nicovdw
 
Posts: 112
Joined: Wed, 28 Oct 2015 4:55 +0000
Location: Green Point, NSW

Re: Touchscreen Update

Postby michaelw on Sat, 03 Sep 2016 5:27 +0000

Got my 05/16 SR unit to update and install yesterday BUT the "Navigate" feature is not displaying as shown in the video on the Toyota site. Not too keen to ask a dealer as can guess the response already. Has any other SR units been able to use the "Navigate" feature?
PS The response you get from driving with the POWER mode is amazing. Never thought the change from GEN7 to GEN8 would be so dramatic. Such a nice vehicle to drive :D
michaelw
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun, 21 Mar 2010 2:04 +0000

Re: Touchscreen Update

Postby Hilux Max on Sat, 03 Sep 2016 6:52 +0000

You can get navigation on the SR headunits? Im keen to find a way to do this too.
User avatar
Hilux Max
Valued Contributor
 
Posts: 12428
Joined: Sun, 07 Jan 2007 12:00 +0000

Re: Touchscreen Update

Postby Moose_ on Sat, 03 Sep 2016 9:44 +0000

I noticed that the SR unit does have a GPS. You can check the parameters and current location by going into the hidden menu.
Moose_
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun, 03 Jul 2016 7:05 +0000
Location: Qld gold coast

Re: Touchscreen Update

Postby gjn on Sat, 03 Sep 2016 10:26 +0000

Hidden menu??
gjn
 
Posts: 146
Joined: Tue, 25 Sep 2012 6:11 +0000
Location: Adelaide SA

Re: Touchscreen Update

Postby Hilux Max on Sat, 03 Sep 2016 10:29 +0000

The SR screen allows you to upload a different startip image off a usb stick. But i tried with a jpg image and it says refer to manual.

In the manual it doesnt detail what image formats it acceots. Bloody frustrating.
User avatar
Hilux Max
Valued Contributor
 
Posts: 12428
Joined: Sun, 07 Jan 2007 12:00 +0000

Re: Touchscreen Update

Postby gjn on Sat, 03 Sep 2016 11:04 +0000

The trick, as per the manual, is that the jpg image MUST be in a directory on the USB stick called StartupImage (note the name is case sensitive). You can also load images for the blank screen using a directory called BlankScreenImage (or something like that, I don't have the manual with me at the moment)

Rgds - Gavin

Interested in this hidden menu though - how do you get to it.
gjn
 
Posts: 146
Joined: Tue, 25 Sep 2012 6:11 +0000
Location: Adelaide SA

Re: Touchscreen Update

Postby Moose_ on Sat, 03 Sep 2016 1:15 +0000

gjn wrote:Hidden menu??


viewtopic.php?p=400008#p400008
Moose_
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun, 03 Jul 2016 7:05 +0000
Location: Qld gold coast

Re: Touchscreen Update

Postby gjn on Sat, 03 Sep 2016 2:10 +0000

Thanks
gjn
 
Posts: 146
Joined: Tue, 25 Sep 2012 6:11 +0000
Location: Adelaide SA

Re: Touchscreen Update

Postby Hilux Max on Sun, 04 Sep 2016 4:38 +0000

gjn wrote:The trick, as per the manual, is that the jpg image MUST be in a directory on the USB stick called StartupImage (note the name is case sensitive). You can also load images for the blank screen using a directory called BlankScreenImage (or something like that, I don't have the manual with me at the moment)

Rgds - Gavin

Interested in this hidden menu though - how do you get to it.



Thanks champ - this helped and I eventually also found it in the manuals.
User avatar
Hilux Max
Valued Contributor
 
Posts: 12428
Joined: Sun, 07 Jan 2007 12:00 +0000

Re: Touchscreen Update

Postby MrTimms on Sun, 04 Sep 2016 6:23 +0000

Does anyone else have a problem with the navigation screen (even if just using the half screen home option) where the unit doesn't honour the night mode and go dark? driving at night I have to turn the screen off because it's still a bright as. I've been into the settings and made sure the dark mode is set for night, only way I can get it to work is to set it dark for day too. stupid.
User avatar
MrTimms
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue, 01 Mar 2016 5:03 +0000
Location: Brisbane, QLD

Re: Touchscreen Update

Postby uninhibited on Mon, 05 Sep 2016 6:48 +0000

I had that issue MrTimms, disconnected the battery for 15 minutes - does a reset - and all good now.

What I would really like is to turn off the blue icon lights that surround the touch screen and maybe just leave the power button illuminated.
uninhibited
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue, 03 May 2016 12:21 +0000
Location: NSW Tamworth

Re: Touchscreen Update

Postby hilux88 on Mon, 05 Sep 2016 7:00 +0000

MrTimms wrote:Does anyone else have a problem with the navigation screen (even if just using the half screen home option) where the unit doesn't honour the night mode and go dark? driving at night I have to turn the screen off because it's still a bright as. I've been into the settings and made sure the dark mode is set for night, only way I can get it to work is to set it dark for day too. stupid.


I had the exact same thing on my hilux. Took it into Toyota and it's because the screen brightness on the display screen in the instrument cluster is up on full brightness it won't go to night mode. Adjust its brightness down a touch and you will be good to go.
hilux88
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed, 06 Jan 2010 7:46 +0000

Next

Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest