Spotlight wiring..

Re: Spotlight wiring..

Postby walmsensation on Tue, 28 Jan 2014 7:55 +0000

top thread. cheers
walmsensation
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat, 23 Nov 2013 4:59 +0000


 

Re: Spotlight wiring..

Postby blaser338 on Sun, 09 Feb 2014 11:56 +0000

Hi

Does it make any difference if there id HID fitted

I put a test light on the red yellow wire on high beam with no current present

Im super confused
blaser338
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed, 12 Jun 2013 3:23 +0000
Location: Myrtleford

Re: Spotlight wiring..

Postby blaser338 on Tue, 11 Feb 2014 8:58 +0000

Hi ALL

Went to Auto Elec, this is what he told me and when I wired it up she all worked fine

Truck has HID upgrade HIGH n LOW beam,

Went from right side of old loom at drivers side into dash, switch then too 86
from the right side of old loom to 85 on relay (the only pin not used is the top one)
87 to lights and earth
30 from positive on battery with in line fuse

I ran 2 bars piggy backed from 86 to switches then ran separate wires for switch to each separate relay.

SIMPLES as the meerkat states
blaser338
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed, 12 Jun 2013 3:23 +0000
Location: Myrtleford

Re: Spotlight wiring..

Postby brett72 on Fri, 18 Apr 2014 5:56 +0000

Has anyone fitted the genuine wiring harness?

I priced the fitting kit for the Toyota spotlights (Rallye 1000s) to suit my 2012 SR5 from the dealer and it's $106.15. Is it worth it?

Is the SR5 prewired so this kit can plug directly into existing looms or does it still need to be spliced in with connectors and the new harness routed?

There looks like two blank plugs in the horn harness just in front of the radiator, could this be for spotlights or am I dreaming that Toyota would make installation a breeze and prewired all vehicles?
User avatar
brett72
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu, 18 Nov 2010 7:13 +0000

Fog light wiring

Postby blatcho on Wed, 30 Apr 2014 8:56 +0000

I know this topic has been covered alot but i cant find the answer anywhere.

The problem im having is i have wired into the standard harness. Found the wire under the steering column that you earth out to get the fog lights to come on so i can run a standard on of switch. The problem is i would like to run the tjm switch that came with the bar or one of the newtech switches but i cannot work out how to wire the switch so it works.

If anybody could help me out that would be great
blatcho
 
Posts: 81
Joined: Mon, 01 Aug 2011 5:39 +0000

Re: Fog light wiring

Postby ScubaDooba on Wed, 30 Apr 2014 12:49 +0000

Hey Blatcho,

Check out this link form newpro-tech ... it has links to various wiring diagrams for the switches they sell.
http://www.newpro-tech.com.au/PDFgallery.htm
Cheers,
Scuba Dooba

__________________________________________
It's better to be 10m underwater than 6 feet underground.
User avatar
ScubaDooba
 
Posts: 214
Joined: Sat, 24 Aug 2013 8:14 +0000

Re: Fog light wiring

Postby Dewbs on Wed, 30 Apr 2014 5:31 +0000

I am considering this myself, but would like to have the factory look, mine is a 2008 sr, what year model indicator stalks are compatible with my 2008? Would it be true to say anything from 2005 to current indicator stalk with fog light function would be compatible?
Thanks in advance
Dewbs
 
Posts: 97
Joined: Fri, 27 Dec 2013 8:21 +0000

Re: Fog light wiring

Postby Dewbs on Wed, 30 Apr 2014 5:31 +0000

I am considering this myself, but would like to have the factory look, mine is a 2008 sr, what year model indicator stalks are compatible with my 2008? Would it be true to say anything from 2005 to current indicator stalk with fog light function would be compatible?
Thanks in advance
Dewbs
 
Posts: 97
Joined: Fri, 27 Dec 2013 8:21 +0000

Re: Fog light wiring

Postby blatcho on Wed, 30 Apr 2014 8:47 +0000

I have a 2008 sr aswell but i prefer the push button rather then replacing the stalk for the simple fact that the stalks are not cheap if you want a genuine one.

Thanks for the links ScubaDooba ill check it out and hopefuly they have one that works
blatcho
 
Posts: 81
Joined: Mon, 01 Aug 2011 5:39 +0000

Re: Spotlight wiring..

Postby woodbturner on Thu, 22 May 2014 8:57 +0000

Just put in the Toyota OEM driving light wiring harness PZQ59-89010 ($101.00) in my 2012 SR5 D4D. It was a straight plug and play with no cut/splicing. All the instructions are supplied and the hard part was pulling the trim off the centre console.
Last edited by woodbturner on Fri, 23 May 2014 8:08 +0000, edited 1 time in total.
woodbturner
 
Posts: 76
Joined: Thu, 12 Jul 2012 8:56 +0000

Re: Spotlight wiring..

Postby brett72 on Thu, 22 May 2014 11:16 +0000

Thanks for the reply woodbturner, couple more questions though as my local dealer hasn't been that forthcoming with info. There answer is "Yeah mate it's everything you need"???

Is it just a short harness with the on/off switch and a brown piggy back connector only in the centre console or is it a complete harness that you routed through the firewall into the engine bay with fuse and relay attached?

The on/off switch you didn't like, is it the same style (push on/push off) as the power heat switch in the centre console or a factory rocker switch?

Does it mount in the centre console or on the drivers side instrument panel.

Did you fit the factory Rallye 1000s or aftermarket lights. The dealer told me that the factory harness is only designed to be used with the factory Rallye 1000s???

Sorry for all the questions.

Do you still have a copy of the fitting instructions as they will answer all of my questions.

Cheers
User avatar
brett72
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu, 18 Nov 2010 7:13 +0000

Re: Spotlight wiring..

Postby woodbturner on Thu, 22 May 2014 3:08 +0000

Hey Brett,
They are right as everything you need is there.
It's a full harness which indeed routes through the fire wall grommet on the passenger side. The tiny relay is actually attached beneath the glovebox which you have to remove first. It's on a steel bracket which bolts to an existing bolt.
Nah, the switch is a little round rocker which they say to attach into a hole they suggest drilled below those centre console switch blanks. Don't know why they didn't utilise an existing blank. I ended up getting a Narva driving light rocker switch for $15.00 but haven't put it in yet. The OEM switch is just dangling out of one of those blank holes at the moment till I make up my mind whether to put it at the centre console or driver's side panel.
I connected it to a led light bar by only utilising one pair of wires. The other two are blanked off. (two wires for each spotlight)
Those fitting instructions are somewhere between Darwin and Adelaide in the back of my mate's ute, so, sorry.
Brett, it's a piece of p--s to put in as the instructions are all there. It's just plug and play once you find the right existing plugs. Oh yeah, they also give you mobs of black cable ties.

Cheers
woodbturner
 
Posts: 76
Joined: Thu, 12 Jul 2012 8:56 +0000

Re: Spotlight wiring..

Postby Dewbs on Mon, 26 May 2014 6:11 +0000

Hi guys just a quick question.
I am in the process of wiring up 4 lightforce xgt spotties on my roof, I have bought an extra 2 narva spotlight wiring looms (on top of the on running the 2light force on the front) the front two were easy enough to wire up even with my little experience as it was all plug and play. My question now lays with the size of the wire I will need to extend the narva loom to reach my roof via the under side of my hilux. I have bought 15amp wire from jaycar (my theory was it runs a 30amp fuse so must be 15amp per light) I have read here earlier it is prefered to be 4mm for 100w light but I'm unsure how 15a converts to mm
Will 15amp wire be enough to extend the narva loom to reach the lightforce xgt (they are halogen not hid)
Thanks everyone
Dewbs
 
Posts: 97
Joined: Fri, 27 Dec 2013 8:21 +0000

Re: Spotlight wiring..

Postby GazaShaggy on Tue, 27 May 2014 8:58 +0000

Being halogen makes the calculation easy, 100w divided by 12v = 8.33 Amps so your 15a wire should be plenty.
Voltage drop shouldn't be an issue if the length of wire is under 5 meters.
I would make sure I soldered new wires to it and not rely on crimp connectors, there's a few good videos on YouTube for soldering if your not sure.
HID you need to add extra for the ballast which can be anywhere from 10-25%
My Build Up http://www.newhilux.net/phpbb/viewtopic.php?f=41&t=18525
Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it!
User avatar
GazaShaggy
 
Posts: 337
Joined: Thu, 03 Jan 2013 3:31 +0000
Location: Greenwith, SA

Re: Spotlight wiring..

Postby Dewbs on Wed, 28 May 2014 5:58 +0000

Awesome thanks, yes I've soldered the extension to the narva loom (I did one light before I thought I might have made a mistake) I have used a waterproof double connector from jaycar from the extension to the light but have soldered the cable to the prongs of the connector, would you suggest deleting this connector and just solder it wire to wire?
Thanks for your help much appreciated
Dewbs
 
Posts: 97
Joined: Fri, 27 Dec 2013 8:21 +0000

Re: Spotlight wiring..

Postby nicebike on Wed, 28 May 2014 6:14 +0000

Dewbs wrote:Hi guys just a quick question.
I am in the process of wiring up 4 lightforce xgt spotties on my roof, I have bought an extra 2 narva spotlight wiring looms (on top of the on running the 2light force on the front) the front two were easy enough to wire up even with my little experience as it was all plug and play. My question now lays with the size of the wire I will need to extend the narva loom to reach my roof via the under side of my hilux. I have bought 15amp wire from jaycar (my theory was it runs a 30amp fuse so must be 15amp per light) I have read here earlier it is prefered to be 4mm for 100w light but I'm unsure how 15a converts to mm
Will 15amp wire be enough to extend the narva loom to reach the lightforce xgt (they are halogen not hid)
Thanks everyone


I would be cautious about amp ratings on wire. Such ratings are at best a compromise, and at worst an exaggeration.

The mm thing can also mean different things, depending on where it comes from and who makes it. I have found Narva branded wire to have accurate square mm markings, so that is what I use. There may be others. Cheap should be checked carefully.

In rough terms the size of the wire used will have big bearing on voltage drop, as will the length of the wire used. Excessive voltage drop will reduce light output.

Doing the right calculations, and basing your choice on square mm will get you the best result.
nicebike
 
Posts: 686
Joined: Thu, 27 Feb 2014 7:28 +0000

Re: Spotlight wiring..

Postby GazaShaggy on Wed, 28 May 2014 8:37 +0000

Personally I would but it should be fine the way it is
My Build Up http://www.newhilux.net/phpbb/viewtopic.php?f=41&t=18525
Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it!
User avatar
GazaShaggy
 
Posts: 337
Joined: Thu, 03 Jan 2013 3:31 +0000
Location: Greenwith, SA

Re: Spotlight wiring..

Postby Dewbs on Wed, 28 May 2014 5:28 +0000

Thanks guys, your advice has helped me heaps
Dewbs
 
Posts: 97
Joined: Fri, 27 Dec 2013 8:21 +0000

Re: Spotlight wiring..

Postby James84 on Tue, 03 Jun 2014 8:51 +0000

I just wired up some Cibie Oscar spot lights using a Narva wiring kit.
http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/300998376316

Then bought a new switch and wired that up.
http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/221372835578

Only issue i have now is where to find a dash light wire to splice into, so the switch will be illuminated. (It lights up when on, just not with dash lights)
I have the switch in the slot above the PWR HEATER button, any wires close by?
2008 Hilux DC Ute 3ltr D4D Auto.

http://www.jamesruff.net
James84
 
Posts: 160
Joined: Wed, 19 Mar 2014 2:47 +0000
Location: Traralgon, Vic.

Re: Spotlight wiring..

Postby Dewbs on Tue, 03 Jun 2014 9:05 +0000

I used the light from the ciggerette lighter, but not sure that that will help over that side
Dewbs
 
Posts: 97
Joined: Fri, 27 Dec 2013 8:21 +0000

PreviousNext

Return to Electrical

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest