Introduction - Theodulf

Introduction - Theodulf

Postby Theodulf on Wed, 22 Feb 2017 7:11 +0000

Hi everyone.

I bought my 2012 Hilux second hand in July after I wrapped my 2005 Corolla around a telegraph pole in June.

Although it is in actual fact my third car, in a sense it is my first car because I've never had a car I gave a damn about before, or ever been able to really choose what I wanted before. And I love it to bits.

The Hilux is a manual 2wd diesel single cab with three seats and was on 140 000km when I got it, I've since put a further 10 000km on myself. I chose it chiefly because it had a really flash aftermarket tray made by O'Brien here in Sydney and it was manual/diesel/3 seat. My previous cars were both automatics but I always wanted a manual. I also quite liked the metallic black colour, all the others I could find with similar features were boring white...

About me:

I'm 24, turning 25 in April. I'm studying a Master of Teaching at Western Sydney University, my teaching areas are TAS (Industrial Arts, etc.) and Visual Arts. My first degree was a Bachelor of Visual Arts (Honours), majoring in Jewellery and Object Design at the University of Sydney. In between my degrees, I worked for a year in a precious metal factory.

I'm a Medieval reenactor in the SCA, my persona is from 6th century post Roman Britain and my focus in the group is combat, we fight full contact with wooden swords, we armour all the squishy bits and all the crunchy bits but still get lots of bruises. I fight with a short sword and oval shield. This is what my Hilux mostly gets used for so far, transporting large amounts of gear to and from SCA events.

I always had servicing done by mechanics on my other cars, but with the Hilux, I was interested and wanted to do it myself, I never had the inclination when I drove boring passenger cars.