Major Power Loss, Tried Everything! Think you can help!?

Turbo, Manifolds, Exhaust, Intercooler, Internals etc

Major Power Loss, Tried Everything! Think you can help!?

Postby kellzahh on Thu, 28 May 2015 10:38 +0000

Hi guys, lately Ive had problems with my 2001 Toyota Hilux 4x4 (3L Diesal, LN167R). Im new to owning a Diesal 4wd so im not really that good at diagnosing problems, the problem is that Im experiencing a lot of power loss. I can barely get to 90km and through the gears even low down I have poor acceleration and its easy to tell somethings wrong. The problem first occured after I went 4wding (alot of mud and water) with friends, first my starter motor went, I was driving around fine then when I turned my ute off it wouldn't start again so I replaced the starter motor, I took off the air filter to get to it easier and when I was done I put it all back together is when I started having the issues. I took it to a car wash to clean all the mud and **** off the engine and body etc. I took it home took the air filter apart and cleaned it top to bottom even replaced the old filter inside and still no power, I even replaced the fuel filter just incase that was the problem but yet again still no fix. I attached photos in the thread so you'se can see the air filter has two connections. Which goes to the engine and the other comes from outside the car and connected from the quarter panel, the one that connects to that one isnt very secure at all it moves up and down and air gets blow out of that connection and when I move it around the engine makes different noises. I tried covering it over real quick with duct tape to see if that was even the issue and still no fix I just thought it was strange air was coming out of the connection and now im quiet stuck on what to do about it now. Any suggestions ? :| :|
kellzahh

Re: Major Power Loss, Tried Everything! Think you can help!?

Postby dino12 on Thu, 28 May 2015 2:48 +0000