Newby

Newby

Postby Cloud Basher on Thu, 18 Dec 2014 6:09 +0000

G'day all,
New guy here.

I have been an avid 4Der since I was about 5 and the old man had an old (well newish then!) FJ55. Grew up wheeling' and have owned a few 4WD's including GQ Patrol, Range Rover, KZJ120 series Prado Grande (wife's - for sale) and 100 series cruiser (just sold). I have tended to keep them all for a long time (14 years for the hunjy) except the foray into the Rangie world tat lasted three months, with the Rangie in the shop for 2.5 of those. Stoopid idiot...

I am about to pull the trigger on a runout model 2014 SR5 Hilux auto dual cab as we have bought an acreage and the Hilux will be eminently more useable, plus the wife is going back to uni and the Hilux will be cheaper to run than the Prado or the hunjy. Only decision now is White or Silver? I am leaning to white as I, well, just like it for 4WD's. Even if they do look like mining vehicles...

Admittedly I am new to owning Hilux's having previously paid them out for a lack of flex (compared to my live axle hunjy!) so I am not across which is good suspension to try and get a bit more clearance and flex (if possible!). I have only just started reading this forum so will do my research on it and not ask heaps of questions here that have already been answered ad-nausea.

Immediate planned mods after owning it for 50m (ARB store is right next to Maitland Toyota!) are:

From the ARB catalogue:
ARB colour coded deluxe winch bar with a couple extra aerial tabs (I like my comms)
Warn Winch (maybe one of the new ones? Any reports on them? If they are crap then it will be a XP9500i)
Safari Snorkel
Air Lockers front and rear (I was going to go e lockers, but the $995 ARB has at the moment has just about sold me. Yes I do know the issues with them...)

Undecided which brand of: