Weather Photographer-Warwick heading West.

Weather Photographer-Warwick heading West.

Postby ChrisMc70 on Mon, 20 Nov 2017 6:16 +0000

Im Chris and thanks for the Introduction link in the Bible Wip. I live in Warwick, always wanted to own a Hilux. Ive saved $10 to buy a 2003-4 Sr or Sr5. The diesels ive found in this price range have upwards of 350xxx on the clock. Ive found quite a few V6 under 10k with much lower k's. The latest vehicle Ive found has 210xxx V6 dual fuel/LPG ITS very tidy, one owner and well looked after. Ive been checking the forums for information on the LPG and what Questions to ask. The tank is mounted under the tray, but further back than the spare tyre bay. Is it safe under the vehicle? Seems to have a steel plate protecting it and is lifted 3". I AM worried about the V6 and fuel consumption. Hoping the gas may balance it out. I am a weather photographer with Higgins Storm Chasing. Most of the country I will travel in this ute is flat. I can get Gas in gundy and also Mitchell and Roma so can refill when in those towns.

Finding A good quality secondhand vehicle has become really daunting. I cannot afford to F# this up.
The plan is to keep the vehicle for a few years and then upgrade to a new Hilux when I'm ready and after a few years in my new job.

Any help and guidance along the way would be great. Only a wish I had found this form a few weeks ago

Thanks, Chris.
ChrisMc70

Re: Weather Photographer-Warwick heading West.

Postby DeadlyBeast on Mon, 20 Nov 2017 7:37 +0000

G'Day Chris and welcome to the forum

If the hilux is carrying or towing a load then by most accounts here fuel economy isnt too bad.
Its only when your put your foot down that you will suck the juice - storm chasing might do that 8-)

We will be expected a pic of your hilux in or in front of some severe weather ;)