D4D hilux vs D4D prado

Turbo, Manifolds, Exhaust, Intercooler, Internals etc

D4D hilux vs D4D prado

Postby pjtaylor03 on Mon, 10 Oct 2011 5:20 +0000

I currently have a 2007 Hilux D4D and the and a 2011 D4D Prado. Can anyone tell me what is different with the 2 diesel engines. They both have the same kilowatts but the hilux only has 343 nm torque where the prado has 410nm.
Is it a different chip or is the turbo bigger in the prado. Just interested thats all. I do think the extra torque in the Prado helps shift the extra 400kg of weight.

Paul
pjtaylor03
 
Posts: 48
Joined: Tue, 13 Sep 2011 6:17 +0000


 

Re: D4D hilux vs D4D prado

Postby fourby4diesel on Mon, 10 Oct 2011 5:42 +0000

I am also curious, have thought about it but never researched it.
I'd say computer settings.

One thing for sure is, really dumb!
343 is crap!
It's about the least torque of the d/c utes!
Even the cheaper 2.5 navara and old Mazda have more.... Pathetic really.
New DENSO Injectors are the go! New genuine parts.
Cheers, Anth - Technician - 1KD-FTV

Check your injectors about every 10,000k.
WARNING check oil pickup screen is clear
no chips no tune ups - why increase risk of piston cracking?
User avatar
fourby4diesel
 
Posts: 813
Joined: Mon, 11 Apr 2011 7:26 +0000
Location: Melbourne

Re: D4D hilux vs D4D prado

Postby pjtaylor03 on Mon, 10 Oct 2011 6:14 +0000

I am still very happy with my Hilux. One thing though, the torque from the hilux does come earlier then most other smaller diesel engines and stays around longer. Most 2.5 diesels don't get there torque until 1800 or 2000 rpm but the hilux has its full torque at 1400 rpm. Maybe they sacrifice a some torque to flatten out the curve.
Before the Prado we had one of the new subaru diesel outbacks. While on paper it had 350nm of torque, there was nothing until you hit 2000 rpm. I have never stalled a car as much as i did that subaru.
pjtaylor03
 
Posts: 48
Joined: Tue, 13 Sep 2011 6:17 +0000

Re: D4D hilux vs D4D prado

Postby Alby on Mon, 10 Oct 2011 8:11 +0000

Max torque figures are little more than sales pitch, it is were the power band starts and finishes that is more important for driveability.
On the internet you can be anything you want. It is strange that so many people choose to be stupid!
User avatar
Alby
 
Posts: 6673
Joined: Tue, 03 Jul 2007 1:00 +0000
Location: Sydney, NSW

Re: D4D hilux vs D4D prado

Postby oldrev on Mon, 10 Oct 2011 4:09 +0000

Alby wrote:Max torque figures are little more than sales pitch, it is were the power band starts and finishes that is more important for driveability.

x2
my work ute is a isuzu d-max 4x4 c/chas
despite more torque and lower gearing it is no better up dirty creek range than my lux carrying exactly the same load at a lesser gvm .
and i'm running over size tyres on the lux.
i know this is off the topic but
direct comparison imo.
d-max more stick - gearing
lux carrys the same load better
d-max better brakes
lux handles better
dmax better fuel figure 10/100k lux 12/100k
my lux is 5 years older the dmax has to get to there yet
cheers
ken
oldrev
 
Posts: 1128
Joined: Sat, 17 Mar 2007 1:00 +0000
Location: yamba, NSW

Re: D4D hilux vs D4D prado

Postby fourby4diesel on Mon, 10 Oct 2011 5:16 +0000

Yeah that's correct, Toyota quote a range from say 1400rpm to 3000, maybe peak torque is higher.....?
The others seem to quote peak.....
Anyway why not give the lux what the prado has? That's the part that us dumb... Isn't it?
New DENSO Injectors are the go! New genuine parts.
Cheers, Anth - Technician - 1KD-FTV

Check your injectors about every 10,000k.
WARNING check oil pickup screen is clear
no chips no tune ups - why increase risk of piston cracking?
User avatar
fourby4diesel
 
Posts: 813
Joined: Mon, 11 Apr 2011 7:26 +0000
Location: Melbourne

Re: D4D hilux vs D4D prado

Postby amitch888 on Mon, 10 Oct 2011 5:32 +0000

I thought the prado had a larger turbo and no doubt different computer...
FCCW
Mitch's Build

Education is what you get when you read the fine print, experience is what you get when you don't.
User avatar
amitch888
Moderator
 
Posts: 5191
Joined: Fri, 16 Apr 2010 7:18 +0000
Location: Tennyson, Vic

D4D hilux vs D4D prado

Postby KTM525EXC on Mon, 10 Oct 2011 5:38 +0000

amitch888 wrote:I thought the prado had a larger turbo and no doubt different computer...


X2 I remember max stating this a while back, he also quoted different part numbers there for different parts ;)
D4D THE WAY TO BE!!!!!!
KTM if it's not orange, its a lemon
KTM's Kick Arse Buildup
User avatar
KTM525EXC
 
Posts: 6114
Joined: Thu, 17 Apr 2008 1:00 +0000
Location: ADELAIDE, SA

Re: D4D hilux vs D4D prado

Postby lais817 on Sun, 17 Jun 2012 11:58 +0000

Any way to shoehorn the Prado unit into the Lux? Anybody looked into this? Max?
Insert witty comment here

Check out my Build: viewtopic.php?f=41&t=11921
User avatar
lais817
 
Posts: 739
Joined: Thu, 07 Oct 2010 10:39 +0000
Location: Geelong VIC

Re: D4D hilux vs D4D prado

Postby Hilux Max on Sun, 17 Jun 2012 12:10 +0000

Nothing to shoehorn...it'd be a straight bolt in propostion...thou not 100% sure if the hilux has enough clearance in the trasnmission tunnel for the 5 speed auto.
User avatar
Hilux Max
Valued Contributor
 
Posts: 12367
Joined: Sun, 07 Jan 2007 12:00 +0000

Re: D4D hilux vs D4D prado

Postby kiwihilux on Sun, 17 Jun 2012 12:26 +0000

Why cant we change ecu over between the two?

My mates olds have a 06 prado and a 09 lux both auto and the prado kicks its ass its sad since hiluxs got nothing on any of the new trucks on paper
kiwihilux
 
Posts: 102
Joined: Fri, 17 Jun 2011 5:13 +0000
Location: Canterbury, New Zealand

Re: D4D hilux vs D4D prado

Postby lais817 on Sun, 17 Jun 2012 1:12 +0000

Hilux Max wrote:Nothing to shoehorn...it'd be a straight bolt in propostion...thou not 100% sure if the hilux has enough clearance in the trasnmission tunnel for the 5 speed auto.

Are you not able to use the hilux tranny in the manual? What about a turbo swap etc?
Insert witty comment here

Check out my Build: viewtopic.php?f=41&t=11921
User avatar
lais817
 
Posts: 739
Joined: Thu, 07 Oct 2010 10:39 +0000
Location: Geelong VIC

Re: D4D hilux vs D4D prado

Postby amitch888 on Sun, 17 Jun 2012 2:42 +0000

Turbo and ecu swap is more what I was thinking although I wouldn't be willing to spend the money and effort on it, I could it just been one big headache. Someone with lots of time, money and experience can try that one.....
FCCW
Mitch's Build

Education is what you get when you read the fine print, experience is what you get when you don't.
User avatar
amitch888
Moderator
 
Posts: 5191
Joined: Fri, 16 Apr 2010 7:18 +0000
Location: Tennyson, Vic

Re: D4D hilux vs D4D prado

Postby Hilux Max on Sun, 17 Jun 2012 5:57 +0000

lais817 wrote:
Hilux Max wrote:Nothing to shoehorn...it'd be a straight bolt in propostion...thou not 100% sure if the hilux has enough clearance in the trasnmission tunnel for the 5 speed auto.

Are you not able to use the hilux tranny in the manual? What about a turbo swap etc?



The Engine and Tranny ECU's are in one unit....unless you have the time and money to rewrite all the engine and tranny parameters into a custom ECU theres not much chance of just doing one without the other.

If you had a prado engine and tranny and matching ecu then go for your life. But is it worth the effort for the gain?

an extra gear and more torque.....more torque can be had from a chip. so you half way there whilst saving alot of money.

Go for it , give it a go.
User avatar
Hilux Max
Valued Contributor
 
Posts: 12367
Joined: Sun, 07 Jan 2007 12:00 +0000

Re: D4D hilux vs D4D prado

Postby lais817 on Sun, 17 Jun 2012 6:14 +0000

Hilux Max wrote:
lais817 wrote:
Hilux Max wrote:Nothing to shoehorn...it'd be a straight bolt in propostion...thou not 100% sure if the hilux has enough clearance in the trasnmission tunnel for the 5 speed auto.

Are you not able to use the hilux tranny in the manual? What about a turbo swap etc?



The Engine and Tranny ECU's are in one unit....unless you have the time and money to rewrite all the engine and tranny parameters into a custom ECU theres not much chance of just doing one without the other.

If you had a prado engine and tranny and matching ecu then go for your life. But is it worth the effort for the gain?

an extra gear and more torque.....more torque can be had from a chip. so you half way there whilst saving alot of money.

Go for it , give it a go.

Well beyond my capabilities, I was just wondering if it could be done, but I'd love to see somebody have a go
Insert witty comment here

Check out my Build: viewtopic.php?f=41&t=11921
User avatar
lais817
 
Posts: 739
Joined: Thu, 07 Oct 2010 10:39 +0000
Location: Geelong VIC


Return to Engines

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest